Grab-and-Go Meals Update

posted Mar 23, 2020, 1:21 PM by Daniel Larkin

The Hawaii State Department of Education will be implementing the Seamless Summer Option (SSO) program a few months earlier than scheduled, as approved by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) and Hawaii Child Nutrition Programs (HCNP).

During the extended Spring Break period, a total of 38 Hawaii public schools will be providing breakfast and lunch to children who are 18 years or younger. They will be able to stop by one of the designated schools (see list below) to pick up a grab-and-go meal. Adults who come to pick up a meal must be accompanied by their child.

Breakfast service hours:

7:30 to 8 a.m.

Due to food safety, the meal must be consumed by 10 a.m.

Lunch service hours:

11:30 a.m. to 12 p.m. (noon)

Due to food safety, the meal must be consumed by 2 p.m.

Note: Meals will not be served on Thursday, March 26, which is Prince Kuhio Day.

There will be no personal interaction between the Hawaii State Department of Education employees and the community. All meals will be placed in containers. Meals will be located outside of the cafeteria, preferably closest to a driveway or other natural access point on the campus. There will be no access to the cafeteria.

List of Grab-and-Go Meal School Sites

Honolulu District

  • Kaimuki High
  • McKinley High

Central Oahu District

  • Leilehua High
  • Makalapa Elementary
  • Waialua High & Intermediate

Windward Oahu District

  • Kahaluu Elementary
  • Kahuku High & Intermediate
  • King Intermediate
  • Waimanalo Elementary & Intermediate

Hawaii Island District

  • Kau High & Pahala Elementary
  • Kohala High
  • Konawaena High
  • Pahoa High & Intermediate
  • Waiakea High

Maui District

  • Hana High & Elementary
  • Kahului Elementary
  • Kalama Intermediate
  • Lahaina Intermediate
  • Lanai High School
  • Molokai High

Kauai District

  • Chiefess Kamakahelei Middle School
  • Kapaa High
  • Waimea High

The following schools will start on Tuesday, March 24, 2020

Honolulu District

  • Sanford B. Dole Middle School
  • Farrington High

Windward Oahu District

  • Kailua Elementary

Hawaii Island District

  • Honokaa High
  • Kahakai Elementary
  • Mountain View Elementary
  • Waimea Elementary

The following schools will start on Wednesday March 25, 2020

Leeward Oahu District

  • August Ahrens Elementary
  • Campbell High
  • Kapolei High School
  • Maili Elementary
  • Nanaikapono Elementary
  • Nanakuli High & Intermediate
  • Waianae Intermediate
  • Waianae High
  • Waipahu Elementary